The QUT bluebox Challenge winners

October 25, 2018
Media Release

Congratulations to all the The QUT bluebox Challenge finalists!

It was a brilliant night to showcase QUT innovation last Thursday 25 October, at the QUT bluebox Challenge Gala.

The five finalists pitched to the four judges plus a full house of 250 guests.

  1. First up was bidhive, Nyree Mackenzie, co-founder, wowed the crowd with her pitch for her end to end platform that helps companies plan, manage, and track their bid and tendering activities.
  2. Tour Amigo founder, Murray Decker was next. His pitch captivated the guests with how easy it is to compare and book your next holiday tour. Plus if you book now you can get a discount with promo code QUTBLUEBOX
  3. Labrys’s Lachlan Feeny hit the stage next and impressed the judges with the Labrys blockchain venture, enabling an evolution for many industries.
  4. Smart Blox founder Tim Larsen was next  with Tim capturing the the audience's attention with Solar Blox a micro grid in a box.
    ​Inspire sports Australia took the stage last but not least. Annie Flamsteed dazzled the audience and guests with Inspire's physical and mental health app for young athletes.

And the Winners are…

  1. QUT bluebox Challenge 2018 Winner – Annie Flamsteed for Inspire Sports Australia
  2. QUT bluebox Challenge 2018 Runner up – Tim Larsen for Smart Blox
  3. QUT bluebox Challenge 2018 Crowd Vote Winner – Lachlan Feeney for Labrys

There were also several sponsor prize winners awarded on the night:

  • Winner of the Davies Collison Cave Innovation Startup Award: Darren Oliver for SensaWeb
  • Winner of the Impact Innovation Impact Award for Jeff Sterling for Universal Field Robots
  • Winner of the  Business Depot Bright Ideas Award: Mackenzie Jackson for Conpago
  • Winner of the  Sales Ecosystem Prize for High Potential: Nyree McKenzie for bidhive |
  • Winner of the  Impact Academy Change Maker Award for Most Outstanding Social Entrepreneur: for Frederick Brian Tokens for Humanity
  • Winner of the Red Chip Elevate Award: Dr Selena Barlett for MigFit Inc
  • Winner of the  Help the Biz innovative Idea Award: Georgia Manthey for Uninked Insurance

The Winner of the Arc Avant-garde hardware Award are:

  • Darren Oliver for SensaWeb
  • Tim Larsen for Smart Blox
  • Damen Codyfor Vanguard Defence Systems

The recipients of the QUT bluebox Accelerator Award are:

  • Frederick Brian for Tokens for Humanity
  • Damen Cody for Vanguard Defence Systems
  • Bobby Garrett for Excise Cloud
  • Chris Veraa for Gigshake

See the photos of the night:

QUT bluebox Challenge Gala


For more information



Phone: +61 7 3138 9420